About Laine Cunningham


Laine is a prolific writer whose works have won dozens of national and international awards.
Reparation pits a Lakota Sioux man against the leader of a multi-national Peyote church. This novel won Honorable Mention in the 2016 Writer’s Digest ebook award.
Beloved, a noir thriller, has been compared to the Swedish noir of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.
The Family Made of Dust is a story of loss and rebirth set in the Australian Outback. The work won two national awards.
Woman Alone: A Six-Month Journey Through the Australian Outback is a warm and funny memoir perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.
Writing While Female or Black or Gay: Diverse Voices in Publishing details how authors, readers and publishers can come together to address gender and racial issues in publishing.
Seven Sisters: Spiritual Messages from Aboriginal Australia is a collection of essays based on the wisdom Aboriginal Dreamtime tales hold for the modern readers.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “About Laine Cunningham

  1. HemmingPlay

    Hi, Laine,

    I appreciated your post about the lack of strong women characters in fiction, and couldn’t agree more. I’ve got a book in the works with three of them (one of them a really bad person). I have excerpts up on my blog. I’m about 65K words into it, which I figure is about half of what I’ll need for a draft. Then I’ll cut 25%. 🙂

    Doug

    Like

    Reply
  2. HemmingPlay

    Ha. Yes. But I had to learn to keep writing instead of constantly re-reading and editing what I’d already written. Beginner mistakes.

    I’ve been following your blog, and have enjoyed it and learned from it. Thanks for doing this.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laine Cunningham Post author

    Oh, yeah. I know some writers claim that’s best, to keep revising as they write, but I find it so intrusive to the creative flow. Once it’s on paper, anything can be fixed. Leave it alone until the end!
    Thank you for your kind comments! It helps me a lot!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s