Tag Archives: mbs

Book Trailers That Turn Heads

Today I want to introduce you (again) to an individual who is a fantastic resource for every author who is serious about selling their books.

TFMODustFrontCover (1)Aleksandar Tomov has done several videos for my books. Two are traditional trailer videos that focus on the books. The first novel, The Family Made of Dust, won two national awards and was shortlisted for a third honor.

Dust was rejected by the big publishers because they didn’t believe people would be interested in the journey of a biracial man who searches the Australian Outback for a missing friend. It’s an adventure/family drama/diverse tale that one reader, after finishing the book, said, “Well, I’ll be damned,” and then turned back to the first page to read it again!

The trailer Tomov created for this one is on my YouTube channel here. The videos he pulled together blend Aboriginal traditions, Outback vistas, and a darkening music track to really capture the flavor of The Family Made of Dust. The trailer, like the book, makes you want to travel to Australia and experience the Outback for yourself.

The year after Dust came out, many readers had asked for more information about Aboriginal lives and their cultures. Readers were very interested in how the protagonist had applied his traditions to solve the issues he faced in his life, so I pulled together a collection of Aboriginal folktales that could help modern people around the world.

SSFrontB&WIn Seven Sisters: Spiritual Messages from Aboriginal Australia, essays describe how traditional people used these stories, and how that wisdom applies today. The book is very popular with fans of The Secret, The Things You Can See Only When You Slow Down by Haemin Sunim, and readers of Eckhart Tolle, Louise Hay, and Paul Coelho.

The video Tomov put together for this book is very different. In fact, it doesn’t look much like a book trailer at all. The fact that individuals can share this video simply for the beauty of the images and the message of women’s empowerment means that it has been shared widely.

The video, available here, is longer than a book trailer, too, because the song needs it to be. That hasn’t stopped people from watching, sharing, and sending me messages about it! Trailers can help your Google rankings, too.

ReparationEbook

My next two novels, Beloved and Reparationare dark tales that mix the fantasy elements of Neil Gaiman (American Gods) and China Mieville (The Kraken) with the literary sensibility of Ursula Le Guin (the Earthsea series, The Left Hand of Darkness, and many, many others).

The trailer Tomov provided for Reparation is spectacular. It’s the creepiest one, and really captures the darkness of the story.Check it out here, and then connect with Tomov here! His rates are truly affordable at only 120 euros. At today’s conversion rate, that’s under $140. At that rate, a book trailer could be one of the least expensive promos you’ve ever bought!

Advertisements

Book Giveaway

This week, I’m giving away 10 signed copies of Seven Sisters: Spiritual Messages from Aboriginal Australia. This has a full-color interior with custom artwork, so even if it’s not the right book for you, it makes a fantastic gift!

Here’s the description:

For readers of The Secret, A Course in Miracles, and Paul Coelho’s works.
Award-winning self-help essays delivered on the print edition’s full-color interior with custom artwork on every page. Makes a great gift!According to Australia’s ancient cultures, all creatures and things emerged from the Dreamtime. The Dreaming is not just a collection of lore or a long-ago time; it is a living energy that flows constantly through the universe. It is then and now, divine and human, spirit and law. Because the energy is as vibrant today as ever, these ancient stories show us how to survive in a harsh world and how to thrive in our souls.

Each Aboriginal story in this collection is enhanced with an essay from award-winning author Laine Cunningham. Our modern perspectives on love and friendship, illness and joy, life and the afterlife can be enriched with this ancient knowledge. Open this book and take your own journey through the eternal Dreamtime. Along the way, you will discover that the ancient connection to god/goddess/the divine still resonates in your soul. You will discover your own truth.

This is Laine Cunningham’s first inspirational self-help book. Seven Sisters harnesses Dreamtime energy to help modern people address their challenges. In this collection of essays, readers discover that love and friendship, parenting, life and the afterlife can be addressed with the unchanging wisdom of the human heart.

This unique book blends Aboriginal folktales with Laine’s essays; the print version has a beautifully designed full-color interior.

In The Dance, readers are inspired to follow their dreams while staying balanced in their lives.

Trickery and Seven Sisters address the special relationships between men and women.

War provides a new perspective on one of the world’s most important issues.

Excerpts from this book have been published in spiritual, literary, and inspirational magazines and newsletters; one combination received an award.

Laine’s understanding of Aboriginal culture began during a six-month solo journey through the Australian Outback. The same visions that drew her into the red desert also told her that she would die there. A miraculous connection to divine energy saved her life and launched her along the path she follows to this day.

Laine has appeared on TV and radio shows to discuss the metaphysical viewpoint on the swine flu, the real secret of prosperity, relationships, love, women’s empowerment, chronic illness and other topics.

Her first novel, Message Stick, follows an Aboriginal man’s journey through the Outback as he rediscovers his lost heritage. The novel won two prestigious national awards. Her second work, He Drinks Poison, follows a female FBI investigator who must access the dark energy of the Hindu goddess Kali in order to stop a serial killer. Her third novel, Reparation, has a Lakota Sioux man racing to stop the leader of a Native American-style peyote cult before he enacts the largest mass murder on American soil.

Look for Laine’s novels and future nonfiction books as her journey, and yours, continues.

Reviews of the book will be greatly appreciated but are not required to participate in this giveaway. US entrants will receive a hard copy. Others will receive an ebook.
To participate, you must be a follower of this blog. If you are, great! If not, click on the link on the righthand side of the screen.
Then share this post on any of your social media accounts.
Finally, comment on this post providing a link to the place where you shared.
If you are inclined to share this on more than one social media site, you will receive as many entries as sharing links!
Winners will be contacted through the social media on which they shared. If you prefer an email, note that in your comment to this post.

Good luck!